

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Iowa FFA Announces 2015 Stars Over Iowa Finalists

ANKENY, Iowa--The 2015 Stars Over Iowa Finalists were selected for recognition as part of the 87th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference at Hilton Coliseum in Ames, Iowa, April 19-21, 2015. Twenty-two finalists were selected in four different areas: Agricultural Placement, Agriscience, Agribusiness, and Agricultural Production. The finalists were selected from a pool of 621 FFA members that will earn the Iowa FFA Degree—the highest honor the Iowa FFA Association can bestow upon an FFA member.

The star awards recognize students who have developed outstanding agricultural skills and competencies through their career development programs and demonstrated outstanding management skills. These finalists will be interviewed and an overall winner in each area will be announced on stage during the 4th General Session of the Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference Tuesday, April 21st.

Stars Over Iowa finalists receive a plaque and a cash award. The Stars Over Iowa program is possible with support from Iowa Farmer Today through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

Listed below are the Stars Over Iowa Finalists.

Star Finalists in Agricultural Placement:

Devin Ackerman, Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA, Sibley Brandon Hanson, Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Chad Marlowe, DeWitt Central FFA, DeWitt Neil Metzger, West Lyon FFA, Inwood Spencer Pech, Starmont FFA, Arlington Alex Scott, Marengo FFA, Marengo

Star Finalists in Agriscience:

McKenna Brinning, Washington FFA, Washington Micaela Bryant, Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Matthew Ellis, Tall Corn FFA, Latimer Karlene Negus, South O'Brien FFA, Paullina Jack Sanor, Linn-Mar FFA, Marion Kayla Toennies, Belle Plaine FFA, Belle Plaine

Star Finalists in Agribusiness: Jarret Horn, Newton FFA, Newton Kaleb Kruse, Maquoketa Valley FFA, Delhi Ray Kurt, Cascade FFA, Cascade Lane Marienau, LeMars FFA, LeMars

--MORE--



CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

Star Finalists in Agricultural Production: Levi Banowetz, Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Cale Gent, Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa Austin Hofman, Sioux Center FFA, Sioux Center Aaron Linhart, Central Trail FFA, Leon Wyatt Orr, Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis Carson Wirtz, Hawkeye FFA, West Bend

#

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,600 student members as part of 225 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.